23 Mar 2022
MINIMAL MAN / The Shroud Of / TWI 034 
Minimal Man

Les Disques du Crepuscule presents an expanded CD edition of the debut album by Minimal Man, aka challenging American underground artist figure Patrick Miller, a figure of dark talent and vision who recorded 6 remarkable albums before his untimely death in December 2003.

Formed by Patrick Miller in San Francisco in 1979, the first iteration of Minimal Man cut two albums of dark industrial punk rock. Debut The Shroud Of was originally issued by Subterranean Records in August 1981, when the core of the band comprised a trio of Miller with Andrew Baumer and Lliam Hart. The album serves up 13 slices of dissonant electronics and 'anti-music', together with generous side-orders of isolation, insecurity, terror and black humour. Enjoy!

Guest musicians include Tuxedomoon alumni Steven Brown and Michael Belfer. Like Tuxedomoon, Miller would subsequently relocate from California to Europe where he continued as a prolific creator of music and visual art. His four European albums are Sex with God, Slave Lullabies, Hunger Is All She Has Ever Known and Pure. Passionate and volatile, Miller returned to California in the 1990s and died at home in 2003.

Digitally remastered, this expanded CD edition of The Shroud Of runs for over 60 minutes. The 5 bonus tracks are taken from rare 7-inch singles Two Little Skeletons and He Who Falls, the latter recorded live at the legendary Deaf Club in San Francisco in September 1979. The collection closes with compilation-only track Shower Sequence.

Available on CD and digital (MP3 and FLAC). The CD booklet includes a detailed Patrick Miller biography, as well as examples of his unique visual art.

For further details click here


Post a Comment

<< Home

- - - -
Blogger Archives
- - - -
Copyright © Les Disques du Crépuscule 1983-2018 | Home | News | Mailorder | Catalogue | History | Contact | Factory Benelux | Website by Cerysmatic Design | factorybenelux.com [->] | LTM Recordings [->]
Ultramarine - Signals Into Space [TWI 1236 CD + LP]
Signals Into Space
TWI 1236 CD + 2xLP
  Josef K - The Scottish Affair (Pt 2) [TWI 019]
Josef K
The Scottish Affair (Pt 2)
TWI 019
A brand new album by acclaimed electronic duo Ultramarine, with guest vocals from Anna Domino. Recorded and mixed by Andy Ramsay (Stereolab). Available on CD/2xLP/ digital.
Vibrant 10 track vinyl album by iconic Scottish guitar group Josef K, recorded live at the Beursschouwburg arts centre in Brussels on 8th April 1981. Clear vinyl disc with sleeve by JFO and printed inner bag. Available on LP + digital (MP3)
Blaine L. Reininger - Commissions 2 [TWI 1246]
Blaine L. Reininger
Commissions 2
TWI 1246
  The Durutti Column - Fidelity [TWI 976]
The Durutti Column
TWI 976 2xLP + CD
Brand new collection of soundtrack material by Tuxedomoon founder member Blaine L. Reininger, recorded between 2015 and 2019. Mixed by Koti K. Available on 2xCD + digital (MP3).
First ever vinyl release for this 1996 album by The Durutti Column, with 2 bonus tracks and brand new cover art by Benoit Hennebert and Vini Reilly. Limited edition pressed on coloured vinyl (blue + clear). Available on 2xLP, CD and digital (MP3)